18 RF Lappy Repower or Rebuild/ Video of SHO added

flatfoot

The 1997 Yamaha 130 on my Hewes died recently.  Im pretty sure a piston is stuck as I cannot even crank the motor now.  I am exploring the options and costs of either rebuilding the engine professionally or repowering.  

The engines that seem to be close in weight to the 370lbs of the existing 130 are the zuke 140, Etec 115 and merc proxs 115.  

Any thoughts?

I am a V4 Yamaha fan. I currently have two of them and have owned several others in the past.  I'm also a mechanic and can handle my own rebuilds so I would definitely lean toward a rebuild or powerhead swap.  As far as repowering an older hull, I think it makes sense if you plan on keeping the boat a long long time.  If you don't, you will lose a lot of money.  Yes new engines are quieter, a little more fuel efficient etc. but they cost A LOT! Especially if you can't rig yourself.  If I was to choose a repower for that boat I'd probably lean towards the Yamaha 115 SHO Vmax, mainly because rigging could be re-used.  Suzuki is a good engine but doesn't have the dealer base or support as much as the others.  I like Merc and Etec as well but neither hold their value like Yamaha. 

As Lap it Up said look at the dealer network in your area if you choose to repower.  I was looking a 18 Hewes a few years back.  Merc and Yamaha are everywhere by me, some Zukes, and few Etec. Unless things have changed you should be able to use most of your Yamaha rigging with Merc.  One other thing to think about if you have one is the height of the platform as most new motors are inline and taller than a V4.

Flatfoot,

Both posts above are ideas you must consider and do what is best for you. Rebuilds are less expensive (usually less than 4K) but you will still have the old technology. The 130 motors are tanks and run forever but stink at gas mileage. If you are not going to keep the boat much longer then go with the rebuild.