Foil on my boat

MPFit

Hi guys! I have a hydrofoil on my motor, and I'm not exactly sure why! 2006 Redfisher 18 with the Vmax 150. More than enough power to get on plane and nice speed also. It has a reliance 3 blade on it. I'm far from a prop guru. I asked why he put it on originally and he said he had one on an older boat and it made a world of difference. I'm on plane within seconds with it on, really trying to decide if it's needed or should I take it off? Is it hurting anything? Any input would be great! Boat has trim tabs also; another reason I'm not understanding the inclusion of it! But the boat is great and if it ain't broke don't fix it ya know!?

IMG_3948.JPG

IMG_3949.JPG

IMG_3950.JPG

I have a similar foil on mine, which was there when I bought it used. I was having my lower unit service done and the guy at my local boat shop said it probably doesn't make a huge difference but won't hurt. He said that if it has trouble getting on plane a better fix is to look at the pitch of the prop. I'm kind of with you though - if it ain't broke, don't fix it! Before you remove it, see if the foil is bolted through the flange or does it just slide over? 

I'm usually cruising at 28-30 around 4-4100rpm. I'm not a speed demon and haven't went WOT yet. I'm not unhappy with the performance by any means; but as I don't know much about these boats shy of what I've read on here I'm curious if I'm running optimally or poorly. 

I had an 18RF with the exact same motor. You have the wrong prop on it. I ran a 21 pitch and it was a powertech ofx. Got on plane quick and ran 53-55 mph top end at full rpm. I did add a negative wedge to it which increased the down trim to keep the bow from rising when getting on plane. It was more like a sling shot. Get the right prop and get rid of that hideous hydrafoil the boat does not need it. You have the maximum HP on the back of that sled you should not need that foil.