Stripped Screw Holes in Hatch Lid

DanAdams

Hello all,
Unfortunately, the center bow hatch lid (2008 Pathfinder 22 TE XL) has suffered some stripped screw holes. The four tap screws (2 holes each hinge shown on bottom of the second photo) that thread into the meat of the hatch lid are stripped and no longer bite the screw. Assuming the original screws were #8 size, apparently the previous owner threaded #10 screws with some 5200 in there and that has obviously failed.

So, I thought (for a minute) that I could run some #12’s in there but that is, at best, a temporary fix and I’m not sure the hinge plates will actually close on themselves with a two sized larger head than original.

I am looking for recommendations on a more durable, "done right", repair for this.

I have pondered drilling (to clean out the hole) and filling the holes with an epoxy resin and fiber mix (using a syringe) then drilling and tapping for #8's or #10's.

I am no professional, so I am open to thoughts and suggestions.

Thanks,
Dan

20240726_162801.jpg

20240726_163121 (1).jpg

1721952870063.jpg

If there is room, and it looks like there is, I would clean and fill the holes as you said then redrill and use machine screws of the correct size and head type for the hinge with a washer and locking nut on the inside.

On the newer boats at least one of the three is nut and bolt.  Stainless of course,

20240726_200533.jpg

• Like 2

Im pretty sure there is nothing you can fill those holes with that will stand up to having most of that material removed when its redrilled to install screws / machine screws... its just to thin there.  Either take to a glass shop to have them redo those areas and add thickness to the inside lip to add more strength or glue some small thin PVC board or coosa board blocks to that inside lip that so the screws can work again.

• Like 1

On 7/26/2024 at 8:10 PM, jh141 said: