Nizpro Tune and Longevity

Zlenart

I was wondering if anyone could give some insight to how the Nizpro tune may affect longevity on a 200 SHO? I searched through all the threads on these tunes yesterday and there is a ton of good info, but longevity of the engine is only lightly addressed. I'm asking because I am looking at a used HPS that has a tune supposedly to 250hp and I don't want the engine to blow 6 months after I shell out a ton of money for a boat. 

If this specific topic was already addressed in another thread and I missed it, I apologize!

BradM will probably chime in and can add a lot more insight as he has talked at length with the owner of Nizpro. 

This is how I see it.  All 4.2L Yamaha 4 strokes are the same exact powerhead.  There is ZERO difference between a 200, 225, 250 and 300 powerhead.  The only difference is ECM mapping.  So I can't see how a 200 mapped to make 250hp will have any shorter life than any other 4.2L Yamaha. 

• Like 1

I have some experience with a flashed 200 SHO. I am sure you have read that the large block SHO engines are the same exact engines. There is not much to add to that portion of the conversation. All of the people that flash the ECM's for these motors seem to prefer to do a max tune. That is to say none of them could really say they had a tune for exactly 250 horses. The one thing that seemed to be optional was leaving the rev limiter to factory setting. Again most felt the motor comes alive at 6000 rpm so they all like to raise the limiter. I would ask the seller if he had the unit flashed. who flashed it and if he knows where the limiter is set. 

All of the companies report no failures linked to flashing a motor. I am of the opinion that if the higher horse power motors are physically the same engine you will not reduce the life of the motor by flashing the ECM. I would not be a fan of running the motor at 6500 rpm all the time either.