Yamaha 150 not starting every time key is turned

Squanto10

Hey yall, this last weekend I took the hewes out to Everglades City for some red fishing with the wife. After we backed the boat in I went to start the engine and there was no start. You could hear a click, almost like the starter was deploying to the flywheel but there wasn’t enough juice to spin it. Weird thing is after repeating turning the key on and off several times it would start and run fine. We went fishing all day and when it was time to start heading back it did it again. Mind you we ran and powered off multiple times with no issues.  Also, I made sure the throttle was in neutral as I though maybe they could be the issue, so I’d put it into drive and then back to neutral. What do you think it could be? Starter going bad, starter relay? I’m no mechanic.  I can’t take the chance any longer of it not starting when doing 30+ miles runs and often not seeing another boat all day(especially with the wife). Thanks for any and all input!

8 hours ago, Squanto10 said:

Hey yall, this last weekend I took the hewes out to Everglades City for some red fishing with the wife. After we backed the boat in I went to start the engine and there was no start. You could hear a click, almost like the starter was deploying to the flywheel but there wasn’t enough juice to spin it. Weird thing is after repeating turning the key on and off several times it would start and run fine. We went fishing all day and when it was time to start heading back it did it again. Mind you we ran and powered off multiple times with no issues.  Also, I made sure the throttle was in neutral as I though maybe they could be the issue, so I’d put it into drive and then back to neutral. What do you think it could be? Starter going bad, starter relay? I’m no mechanic.  I can’t take the chance any longer of it not starting when doing 30+ miles runs and often not seeing another boat all day(especially with the wife). Thanks for any and all input!