Hewes Restoration

chasing904tail

Hey everyone,

Im pretty new to the restoration game but I wanted some input from all the experience out there.

Im picking up a '71 Hewes Tarpon Fisher from a buddy of mine. Its in pretty decent shape but its got some work to go until I get it where I want it. Does anyone have any advice as what to do, what to avoid, and where to go?

I appreciate the time!

• Like 1

Wiring is my first priority for my reno's. Probably with the age of the boat and if it has never been done that is where I would start. With a rewire you can upgrade to circuit breakers instead of fuses and you can allow for additional accessories as you get into it.

This, and I would seriously consider the fuel tank and it's condition/location.

I've seen some serious time and effort put into cosmetics, wiring and so on to only find fuel in the bilge 6 months later.

Considering it's a 71 & "ONLY" if you never plan on getting rid of it,

& if the stringer system has never been replaced, I would start by removing the cap, all the wooden & gl*** stringers, & anything else wooden in the hull (bulk heads, etc.), prep(grind) the interior of the hull down w/ 36 grit grinding disk, "Thoroughly" wash the interior of hull out w/ concentrated degreaser, pressure was, let dry, thoroughly wash substrate surfaces w/ acetone, gl*** in some closed cell foam stringers, bulk heads etc.

As for the transom, you will have to drill a few "VERY" small holes from the "Inside" of the transom to see if the wood is wet or deteriorated.

If not, grind around these areas, prep with acetone, re-gl*** & top coat w/ gel coat. Make sure that any final top coat of gel coat has a curing additive in it.

"If" the wood needs replaced, cut open the top of the transom (don't butcher it)remove wood, thoroughly chemically clean cavity & fill with marine grade porcelain transom filler.

Let fully cure according to specs, re-gl*** & top coat.

Run new snake tubes for wiring, re-glue cap, screw together.