Ceramic Coatings - anyone have experience with these?

Arthur

Bought a 2007 2200V Stars n stripes blue back in October and I have it at the detailer getting the gelcoat wetsanded and compounded.  He was telling me about a “ceramic” coating that he can put on the boat that seals and shines... he had a ski boat in his shop last night that he just finished and it was beautiful.  He was saying for a fishing boat the coating would make cleanup a snap.  Bloody mess would disappear with a powerwash and most cleanups would essentially be a rinse off.  The stuff is silica based and seems to be the latest in automotive and marine detailing...  Was wondering if anyone has any experience with it.  Seems to be quite expensive to have done, but I guess I could buy a kit and try to do myself.  Course I have no experience with it so...

Does anyone have any experience with this stuff?  If so, how do you like it?  How long has it lasted so far?  How is cleanup?  Do you have it on the deck?  If so, is it slick at all?  He mentioned a special cleaner and refresher to use on it... if it’s so tuff why do you need this?

Thanks for any feedback!

I have tried lots of waxes in my lifetime. They look great when applied but something about saltwater just seems to strip off what ever I put on! I would ask your guy if the boat he put it on is run in fresh water or salt? Maybe ask him to have the customer call you and he can tell you how long the coating will last before breaking down and needs to be re-applied?

My buddy is a marine detailer and ive helped him detail many times we ceramic coated a 39 yellowfin and it is expensive for sure not just the product but the labor because to ceramic coat a boat correctly it needs to be absolutely as clean as possible buffed and compounded that way you are coating a near perfect boat. personally i dont think it is as great as everyone says it is but it does make it easier to clean and it is hydrophobic so water runs right off instead of beading up.