Outfit Setup for SE Ga

dcathey

http://www.orvis.com/p/clearwater-8-weight-9-fly-rod/4Y1E

http://www.orvis.com/p/hydros-sl-fly-reels/2fbt

We have a local fly shop that just opened up and Id like to support them and they carry Orvis gear and Ive got a little gift card money to burn from the inlaws. Ive always wanted to get a fly rod to keep on my boat and to use on vacation when I'm on the fish. At home, I primarily inshore fish for redfish(14"-25" typically) , trout(up to 20"), but what I really want to have it for is tripletail(up to 20lbs) when bait is scarce. I also catch snook down in N Captiva on vacation on the beach(up to 30") I am a total rookie and don't want to buy the wrong setup. Is the above link going to be suitable? Should I get the rod that's $229 and then upgrade the reel (second link ) bc I don't like buying junk but I'm not well versed on the fly gear. Any input is appreciated

An 8wt is what's on the link you posted, a 9wt would be fine as well. I agree with Don, unless your gift card will cover the entire combo. The TFO BVK is the best fly rod under $500 ever made in my, and many others opinion. 

You can cast the smallest trout flies with a 12wt, the tricky part is large flies with smaller rods, lighter line. Keep in mind- you're casting the line, not the fly. 

Accuracy is waaaay more important than distance. Especially in the marshes where you'll be in tannin stained water most of the year except winter. Sometimes you'll need to drop it right on them, especially if they're eating since their face will be buried in the mud. The good thing is the fish (I'm speaking of Jacksonville to Charleston redfish) are a lot less spooky than reds in super clear water so unless you line them you can usually get more than one shot at them. Concentrate on accuracy at all times, the distance will come with casting time on the water, or in the back yard.