Pathfinder hull damage - What to do

General disarray

Hi everyone!

So I finally picked up the pathfinder I purchased from a friend and got a solid deal on it. There is a little hull damage on the lowest chine (photos below). I wanted to get your opinions on how serious this is and how quickly I need to get this corrected. Also If you think this is a major issue. Some details:

Each damaged area is about 6" long - there is no spider cracks, blistering, or deformation of the hull near these crack. If I push on the exposed glass right on the very edge of the chine it does flex a little and there appears to be some hairline gaps. Tapping with my hand around the area nothing is soft and there are any changes in sound. 

Also you can see where the old trailers bunks have rubbed though most of the gel coat. 

This is the first boat I've purchased so I am a bit new to this. 

IMG_4262.JPG

IMG_4264.JPG

IMG_4265.JPG

I had the hard plastic bunks on my trailer and it ate right through the gel coat where the bunks touched the hull from power loading. I took the plastic bunks off and replaced them with carpet after the repair and have not had the same problem.

21 minutes ago, gambler1 said:

I am no expert but I would have a glass guy look at it. Anything at or below waterline can lead to water intrusion.

Have you been in the boat for water test?

Also hard to believe trailer bunk did all that damage, was there no carpet?

Wow thanks for all the replies guys,

Went for a water test, no intrusion that I could see. We were on the water for 20 mins pulled the plug zero water came out. From what I can tell its almost like that chine was laid then another flat layer (leaving a gap) behind it. From what I can look see from the anchor locker I dont see any of the indents from the chine. I could be way off though. I think I will definitely have a glass guy look at it and repair  - do you think the 4th of july weekend on the water would be a big deal?