Trolling motor batteries location

Captron904

On 2/22/2017 at 4:58 PM, hurricane said:

Not sure why you wouldn't want AGM batts? Ya, they cost a bit more upfront but in the long run they pay for themselves. 

I'm sure putting the batts up front is doable, but that setup looks cool

Check the Duracells at Sams club

I'm with you....I feel for the hassles and capability to side mount....AGM's are 100% better.

dc

I'm not a battery expert by no means but for some reason AGM batteries seem to be shorter when comparing apples to apples. A group 24 lead-acid is like 9.5" tall, which ain't gonna fit (not in my fwd hatch anyway, I have 9" of vertical space)

Not sure why your trying to get away from AGMs but if it's the cost I get it, or I use to get it anyway. I don't use my trolling motor very much but I have a pair of Odyssey group 34's up front that are 12 years old. These batteries are from buddy of mine who used them for 2 years on the BASS circuit and then they sat in his garage for like 5 years starting various tractors, running golf carts, etc... I've had them for 5 years and I just used them pretty hard of the beach yesterday.

I've never heard of a lead-acid battery that could perform like that.

On the my new to me 2012 18-HPX the two trolling motor (AMG) batteries are under the small center console with charger and my cranking batt is in the front hatch in front of the 40 gal gas tank! With the bigger than normal gas tank and single cranking battery there is very little room up front :( but I have all my PFD's, throw cushion, and dock lines in there!     

21 hours ago, Bonecracker said:

On the my new to me 2012 18-HPX the two trolling motor (AMG) batteries are under the small center console with charger and my cranking batt is in the front hatch in front of the 40 gal gas tank! With the bigger than normal gas tank and single cranking battery there is very little room up front :( but I have all my PFD's, throw cushion, and dock lines in there!