Need a good reel to

rubble

go with a GL NRX 9' 8#.  Purchased the rod a few years ago to target snook and reds in the glades. 

Looking for a decent reel. Dont have a price in mind but would like a budget minded reel as I'm just a beginner. 

Also need some recommendations for line with this setup. 

Something like a Lamson Guru in a 3.5 size is inexpensive and still has a decent drag, very light too. If you want high end Nautilus is hard to beat. I have 5 Lamson Velocity's, two 3.5's, two 2's and one 4. Also have Abels and Nautilus NV's. But bang for your buck just starting out, a Guru is a good reel.

The rod you have is a high end rod, a Nautilus CCF-X2 or NV would be a killer set up.

On 2/8/2017 at 2:56 PM, NCTribute said:

Something like a Lamson Guru in a 3.5 size is inexpensive and still has a decent drag, very light too. If you want high end Nautilus is hard to beat. I have 5 Lamson Velocity's, two 3.5's, two 2's and one 4. Also have Abels and Nautilus NV's. But bang for your buck just starting out, a Guru is a good reel.

The rod you have is a high end rod, a Nautilus CCF-X2 or NV would be a killer set up.

I have a Danielsson on a Native Run Quinault that I purchased to use in AK.  Could not cast it worth a dime.  I'm sure it wasn't the reel at all.  It was a really nice reel at the time. I think it may have been the line.  One of the guides had a Loop setup that a Rep gave him to try out and it was awesome but I don't remember any of the specs.   Wondering how key the line is?  What would be best for casting in the ENP or in average fishing conditions (not short casts in cold water and weather in AK)?  I'd like to get a high end reel like the Nautilus but just afraid I wouldn't get my money's worth as little as I fish with the long stick.