JP on MA 17? Yes or no?

Wanaflatsfish

I would lean towards no. Mostly because I think to take advantage of a jackplate on any boat it has to be atleast 6", anything less like 4" is not enough to allow the motor to run higher. But then, when you move the motor back 6" I think you loose draft and need more tabs.

I have no experience with a jackplate on a 17, so that's all just a thought. Might be worth a try, if you find a used one you could turn and sell with little loss if it doesn't work out.

11 minutes ago, Lap it Up said:

Buttapollack (however that's spelled, sorry😁) ran one and has lots of knowledge. I personally wouldn't own a flats boat or bay boat without a plate. Technical poling skiff is different. 

I'm concerned about the porposing.....I do like the ability to raise the lower unit out of the water....

Toying with the idea as Bob has one for sale...but, Momma is telling me....Ya-basta on the $$$ for da bote :)

dc

1 hour ago, conocean said:

For what? Just asking.

All the MA's are known to porpoise with the wrong mix of tab.

I was able to raise my old Merc's lower unit out of the water without a jp.

Yes, more of what Lap it up was referring; however, thinking out loud....with the new Ulterra 80, I have found myself not idling in and out of fishing spots, but, rather, using the TM to get into a spot - again, I normally stop 75-80 yards out and ease in while I"m rigging the rods from the bote.

DC

I say No. So will Skip. Although Robert (buttapollock) and others claim to have different results.