Minn Kota Ulterra

Lowcountry Joe

32 minutes ago, Lowcountry Joe said:

Just ordered the Ulterra and I am planning on installing it myself.  Is the footprint basically the same as the Riptide ST that I currently have on my boat, or will I be drilling new holes ?  Thanks in advance

it sits signficantly over the bow..new holes required....

I watched several U tube videos on the install and review many pics.....it's an easy install...just need to be sure it's sitting off the bow with enough room for re-stow.

dc

My template slipped just enough to mess up my alignment and I ended up with three wrong holes. It is WAY fwd on the Pathy bow. Almost need to bolt thru behind the rubrail/cap. II have one hole that drilled thru but was tapped and then i put 5200 on the outside hole. Not much room to work with in the anchor hatch on my boat. Others may be different. 

Fairly easy install otherwise. 

I have no first hand knowledge, but sure looks like an ST sits just as far forward as an Ulterra. Worst case might be you need to drill some new holes in the attached mounting bracket and keep the puck mounted to the boat in the same spot.

Would appreciate to know the outcome, I was looking at getting an Ulterra and using my ST as a back up.

19 hours ago, KeeKee Run said:

Does anyone know how much heavier the Ulterra is compared to the st. Couldn't find the weight specs at a glance. I will be using the quick release, taking it on and off each trip. wondering if there is much difference 

You will have Popeye arms if you get out a few times each week. LoL

shipping weight is 68lb...wow. I may need to rethink my original plan of no and off. Boat sits on the trailer in my side yard. this is a pretty pricey item to leave out.

Does anybody else take it off and on using quick release mount?