Push Pole preference

btmoon4

Would love to hear everyone's preference or recommendation for push pole.  I have a 2014 HPX-V 18' with a 115. I had a CarbonMarine with my old skiff.  Enjoyed it and their customer service is top-notch but just wanted to hear from the choir before pulling the trigger again. 

I have a loomis carbon fiber 22fter on my LT Hewes.  Been around for 19 yrs and is still good to go.  It depends how much you will use ,since carbon fibers are much lighter and more expensive.  The pole came with the boat so I just enjoyed it when it is used which isn't that often.  

After having some experience with 21-24' poles built by Moonlighter, Biscayne Rod, Carbon Marine & Loomis on friend's boats, my preference is a one piece 22' Stiffy Hybrid. I've been using that pole for the past 10 years on 3 different skiffs (17MA, HPXT, 18HPXV). It's light enough for me and I like the high grip finish; strong & durable for staking out in heavy current. And they're only about $700+/-. I think most of the poles built today are high quality.

I've been using the Stiffy Hybrid pole for years too and really like them.  If you're in Texas by any chance, you can get a fantastic deal on them by going to their site in Corpus Christi and buying a "factory second" from them directly for around $500 as I recall.  I've done this twice and don't think there's anything "second" about them.  I think it's just his way of giving a discount outside of the retail dealer's commission for those willing to make the visit.

I second and third the Stiffy. I got a factory second from Captain Jim on here and I'm still looking for the supposed blemish. I have had it six years and it still is holding up great. I broke my 3 piece Loomis twice and after time it started shedding and would eat you up as bad as an old spike on a Power Pole.