Older angler

Brian D

Hi guys!

I'm a retired angler (67), new to the forum & considering purchase of first flats boat -2000 Hewes 16 Redfisher. Absolute newby to flats fishing & poling, so I'm wondering how much physical fitness needed to pole this boat all day. Would appreciate hearing from some older guys on this subject. (Reasonable physical condition, office worker 15-20lbs heavy, but never been a jock.)

Brian D

If you are officially retired then exercise would be good for you, and you'll get it poling that boat :content: . It can be done if you follow a few pointers that will be given from the forum memebers. For instance - distribute wieght properly in the boat, keep the wind at your back, eat your Wheaties!

Welcome, best of luck and enjoy!!

• 2 weeks later...

Id get both, and my bet is you will use the trolling motor mostly. If its hot, you can get heated by poling a canoe.

Also, depending on back, knee, etc (arthritis, etc) getting up on the platform of a redfisher may be difficult. The redfisher platforms arent super easy to get on so you may want one modified so its easier. Just something to think about

I don't have a trolling motor on my boat and it doesn't bother me most of the time. The only problem I have is having an angler on the front that can see fish, follow directions and hit the spot with a bait.

I fish live bait and getting a rod baited, putting the pole down while on the platform is something I haven't mastered yet.

If you fish by your self I would invest in a trolling motor.

"distribute wieght properly in the boat, keep the wind at your back"

Ditto with the wind if possible. Plus when not standing on it a poling platform is great for sitting your beer with koozie and when nature calls to lean on so you don't fall off the boat while taking a pee!! :)

I'll be 67 next month and bought my first flats boat, a Maverick 18 HPX, 2 yrs ago at age 65. I'm in reasonably good shape,I run 2 miles a day.