Bait Well Question

Bruce J

I'm still new to the bait well game, so bear with me on this one. I put in the taller standpipe in the back center well of my new 2400TRS for the first time and was running around - aimlessly as usual. A short time later I looked back and saw water coming out of the back of the hatch. I opened the hatch and it was filled or overfilled to the brim of the well.

The standpipe is tall, but stops a few inches short of the top of the well. So I wouldn't have expected it to overfill. It must be coming in faster while running than it can drain out through the pipe. I guess I ***umed there was some type of additional upper level overflow drain, just in case, but guess that is not true.

The question is whether it's "normal" to have your bait well so completely full that it even overflows a bit when running - nothing to worry about, etc.? Or do I really need to just cut down that standpipe several more inches? I think the drain itself is fine because it empties quickly when I remove the standpipe.

Over to you, thanks.

Not sure on the normal for your boat. However I have heard of other boats that have had this issue.

2 things I can think of you can do. Close the inlet valve a bit, but not enough to starve the pump when not moving.

Drill holes in the bottom of the stand pipe to help water move out faster, also helps to get rid of old water that can get stuck on the bottom.

I wouldn't shorten the stand pipe. I don't think that will solve it, seems like it will still over flow. Also if you shorten it there will be less water in the well when not running.

I drilled some holes in my standpipe. Helps avoid the problem you have, but also helps circulate water better letting water from the bottom get out keeping the water fresher throughout the well. Mine is the old style with just the fill spout up top. I think the newer ones have a little better design with two fill points to help move water around.